Share This

Photo: N/A, License: N/A, Created: 2020:02:05 13:07:12

Greater Pittston Friendly Sons officers for 2020-21, first row, from left, are Chris McFarland, Errol O’Brien and Sean Rooney. Second row: Shawn Brogan, Matthew Meade and Michael McFarland.

Photo: N/A, License: N/A, Created: 2020:02:05 13:06:41

At the jacket presentation honoring Past President Shawn Slusser, from left, are Matt Meade, current president; Slusser and Joe Long, past president.

The Greater Pittston Friendly Sons of St. Patrick recently gathered to honor Shawn Slusser, club president for 2018-19. The event was held Jan. 25 at the Pittston Knights of Columbus.

During Slusser’s year as president, the club awarded two $3,000 scholarships, one to a Pittston Area senior and one to a Wyoming Area senior. He hosted the Patrick J. Norwood Memorial Black Shamrock Golf Tournament at Emanon Country Club and a Half-Way to St. Patrick’s Day Party at Brew’s Brothers. The culmination of the year was the 105th annual St. Patrick’s Day Dinner at the Woodlands Inn and Resort featuring Qadry Ismail as the principal speaker. The former football standout with Meyers, Syracuse and the Baltimore Ravens is the only Wyoming Valley Conference player to earn a Super Bowl ring.

The club also selected the officers for the upcoming year that evening. President-elect is Michael McFarland, first vice president-elect is Shawn Brogan, second vice president-elect is Chris McFarland, treasurer-elect is Erroll O’Brien and secretary-elect is Sean Rooney.

President Matthew Meade also announced that the 106th annual St. Patrick’s Day Dinner will be held Tuesday, March 17, at the Woodlands Inn and Resort. Tickets may be purchased from any active member of the Greater Pittston Friendly Sons of St. Patrick or at the Knights of Columbus on Main Street in Pittston every Thursday night until the night of the banquet. Tickets must be purchased in advance.

The club also will host the third annual Women’s Brunch on Sunday, March 15. Cost is $28 a person and tickets can be purchased through Joe Long at 570-407-2903, Matthew Meade at 570-237-2240, or Michael McFarland at 570-417-9461.